Annual Meeting 2014

Annual Meeting was a Success!!

The Vanderburgh County Soil and Water Conservation District annual meeting took place on February 25th, 2014 at the 4-H fairgrounds Banquet Hall. It was well attended this year with approximately 100 people gathering for the festivities. Included in the evenings fun was a dinner by Anne Farney, and numerous door prizes from our wonderfully generous sponsors.
As you may know, the annual get together is actually state mandated, and the primary purpose is to elect our supervisors for the upcoming cycle. This year, there were two supervisor positions open, and both were filled by the incumbents . Scott Winiger was the Governors appointee, re-appointed for a second term, and Wayne Fehd was elected at the meeting by a show of hands from the attending public. This is Wayne’s third full term.
The oath of office was given to both gentlemen by the honorable Vanderburgh County Superior Court Judge Les Shively. Judge Shively was also kind enough to say a few words of remembrance for the late Judge Bill Brune, who had been a mentor for Les going as far back as high school. Judge Brune had been a longtime friend to the conservation efforts in Vanderburgh County having worked closely with several of the Board Supervisors over the decades.
Several awards were given out during the evening as well. Hugh Miller, local business man and farmer, received the prestigious River Friendly Farmer Award, taking home a large metal sign designed to be placed outside his fifth generation farm proclaiming the award.
The Buffalo Trace Council of the Boy Scouts of America was presented the Community Conservation Award for the many projects completed by Eagle Scouts at the Eagle Slough Natural Area. This site was immensely improved by their efforts and can now be visited in comfort by the public.
The Urban Conservationist Award was given to Steven Ruppert, Mark Schauss, Phillip LaRue, Wayne Hancock, and Ron Owens for their installation of hoop houses at their place of business which are used to help lengthen the growing season for their locally grown produce which is shared with the public.
The Conservation Educators Award was taken by the Green Team…a group of a dozen local citizens not affiliated with any one group or business, but simply brought together by their shared love of conservation and the beauty of nature. Dona Bergman and Paul Bauseman were present to receive the award.
The evening was wrapped up with a presentation by Marty Finney of Daylight Farm Supply concerning his work in Bolivia. He had numerous slides of the area depicting the conditions that existed there prior to his efforts and some more that show the way it looks now, thanks to the important work he does in the area of soil health management. There are many lessons to be learned from the work accomplished in such a difficult terrain and climate. This concluded the evening’s events. Our thanks go out to all those who attended as well as all of our sponsors.